19/52 Recipe Review

Oh my God, how did I get so far behind? K, I’ll try to make this short and sweet.

I have no idea what got into me today or why I picked this particular recipe to pursue. It’s a Wednesday, hump day, and I spent mine cleaning the house and doing laundry. Super fun right? I guess I just wanted something I love, and I LOVE meatballs! So what’s a girl to do? Well this girl made Ina Garten’s Real Meatballs & Spaghetti. The babe is otherwise known as The Barefoot Contessa and as I’ve mentioned in previous posts…we’re best friends who live next door to each other during the summer months in the Hamptons. I steal herbs from her garden, she steals my fresh pies cooling on the windowsill. We drink crisp white wine on her covered porch after riding along the highway filling our bike baskets with fresh produce and flowers from street vendors. Sometimes Gwyneth pops over and snuggles up next to me on the porch swing and invites us both to try out one of her new recipes with Chris and the family. Then someone yells “Mom! I’m hungry” and it’s over. Anyhoo…at least, for RJ’s sake, it wasn’t a sweaty dream about me and Tyrion Lanister…again.

BACK TO THE FOOD!!!

11/10. Perfection.

BOOM!

BOOM!

I know the thought of making meatballs seems like a HUGE task but it surprisingly is not. The most time consuming thing was frying the meatballs and to be perfectly honest I think I might try baking them next time. If I do that, this meal will be almost as easy as making a turkey sandwich. I won’t say that literally but I’m not kidding you…even the sauce was done in an extremely short amount of time.

The recipe calls for red wine so I HAD to crack a bottle and since I’m only recently drinking it again (was off it for some reason after Knox was born) I was happy to indulge. I even had a Gwyneth moment by letting Knox join me in the prep and dish washing. I can sleep tonight not feeling like the worst parent ever which is my usually lullaby.

My lil kitchen assistant.

My lil kitchen assistant.

 Try it! You’re a dink if you don’t!

PS: For the fresh bread crumbs I used my Vitamix and it worked perfectly. I didn’t even wash it after…a few crumbs in my shake tomorrow won’t hurt anyone. #ILOVESHORTCUTS

http://www.barefootcontessa.com/recipes.aspx?RecipeID=100&S=0

Leave a Reply

