15 & 16/52 Recipe Review

Since I am behind by a week of recipes I have decided to catch up today.

My sister in law Julia has a three year old as well (Hugo) and he is Knox’s best friend and cousin. Once a week Julia takes both boys for the day and once a week I do. The incredible thing about this is I get the opportunity to be in my house alone for 6 hours straight and I can get a whole whack of stuff done during that magical time. This week was the first week I didn’t have to go to the office on my free day so I did my J Beverly Hills work from home in the morning and spent the afternoon in the kitchen catching up on my 2014 resolution.

First I made Gwyneth’s “Beet Salad with Scallion + Mint Pesto” for lunch. I love me some beets so I’m always looking for interesting ways to dress them up. This was a damn good recipe. Super tasty, light, healthy as ever and pretty simple to prepare (thank you Vitamix).

So delicious looking I forgot to take a picture…I just dug in!

So delicious looking I forgot to take a picture…I just dug in!

This one gets an 8.5 out of 10. The dressing is delicious and there was enough left overs for the next couple days. Can you guess what I’m having for lunch? It was a hard to find a link to this recipe but I did find one via a new blog to me. I recommend the read…it’s pretty hilarious and I can’t help but agree with her opinion regarding Gwyneth’s constant body afflictions and her cookbook “It’s All Good”. G’s book is like a never ending saga of her physical ailments… but I still love her. Here’s the link:

http://www.staceysnacksonline.com/2013/06/eating-smart-for-body-mind-beets-w-mint.html

For dinner, I prepared some chicken lettuce wraps. Fun for the kids, delicious, fresh, crispy and I LOVE them. I haven’t made these babies in such a long time so I scoured my books looking for a recipe. I found this one in the Best of Bridge (one of my mom’s favourite selection of cook books). They are outstanding and yes…the boys wolfed them down. I’m on a roll this week baby!

These receive a 8.5 out of 10 on the review as well. I’m not entirely sure how the health/calorie factor plays out here. The only really high calorie ingredient I found after my research was the Hoisin Sauce (and a tiny bit of honey) and I figure, if there’s 500 calories in the whole recipe it can’t be that bad right? Also, the Dry Steam-Fried Noodles. However, if you’re really trying to cut down on carbs and calories just leave them out. I love the crunch but they don’t even touch the flavour.

Yuuuuuummmmy!

Yuuuuuummmmy!

The kids loved these and had so much fun putting them together. Jude was a little skeptical but once he got going he was down.

The kids loved these and had so much fun putting them together. Jude was a little skeptical but once he got going he was down.

Here’s the link to this one:

http://www.onecooktwokitchens.com/best-of-bridge-chicken-lettuce-wraps/

Leave a Reply

