13/52 Recipe Review

It’s an original today!!!

Greek Quinoa Salad

Greek Quinoa Salad

I was off Quinoa for a while. I didn’t like the taste of it and it just didn’t do anything for me until I went to my brothers house for dinner this weekend and his wife Lissa made an incredible Quinoa salad. It was so so good that I was craving it the whole next day. I’m back on the Quinoa bandwagon and loving it…even the kids devoured their dinner last night and that says a lot! All I’m going to do is list an approximate list of ingredients to give you an idea of what I did as quantities differ from salad to salad for me. Some times I feel like more asparagus in this salad or extra almonds in that. Often in my salads, I cut up everything pretty small because I like to get as much of everything as I can in each bite. Also, I list the chicken as cooked already. Since this is a salad, you can do the chicken earlier in the day, shred it (or chop it up or serve it whole on top depending how lazy you want to be) and then you can just toss it in the salad later when the Quinoa is ready. Do what you do when you do it…ultimately, you can make this your original too. Just take the things you like and throw them into a bowl. I had tzatziki in the fridge and had just made a small batch of Pauline’s lemon dressing so I was inspired to go Greek but you could go BBQ or Italian…the Quinoa world is your oyster.

Here goes my version:

  • 1.5 cups Quinoa uncooked (turns into maybe 4 cups cooked?)
  • 2 chicken breasts cooked on the oven with Olive Oil, Lemon and Salt & Pepper
  • 1 bunch asparagus cut into dime sized pieces
  • 200g Feta Cheese crumbled
  • 1/4 purple onion finely diced
  • 2 cups Sugar Snap Peas cut into dime sized pieces
  • 1 cup shaved Almonds
  • 1 cup quartered up cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 Cucumber cut into dime sized pieces
  • Small handful of Parsley finely diced
  • 1 container Tzatziki or make your own fresh
So delicious and good for you.

So delicious and good for you.

I put the water for the Quinoa on the stove. Then I cut all of the chopable stuff up and threw it in a bowl. Crumbled the cheese into the mixture and added the almonds. In a little bit of butter and oil, I sautéed the asparagus pieces until they were cooked properly (about 3 minutes). I then added the chicken (which I had shredded a while ago) into the bowl with the cooked asparagus and tossed it all up together and then I let it sit on the counter while I took the Quinoa off the stove…it was ready by then. I let the Quinoa cool for a few minutes because I didn’t want the heat of it to destroy the crispiness of the cucumber and the peas. When it had cooled enough, I threw it into the bowl, added some of Auntie Paulines lemon dressing and tossed it all up. Mercy, this was a good salad. A dollop of Tzatziki on top took it over the edge and I’m serious when I say the boys devoured it. No complaints and we have a new staple in our house. Greek, healthy, tasty, warm and cold, filling and fresh. A 9/10 on the scale and a serious shout out to my sis Lissa for the inspiration. Love you!

 BONUS: Left overs are the best!

 

Leave a Reply

