8/52 Recipe Review

I’m feeling much better today. My voice is still a goner but my energy has come back and I managed to get to some cleaning done around the house, which it desperately needed, so that was good. I also had the energy and opportunity to make some food and I was really craving a warm Kale salad. I had just bought two big bunches of Kale the day before so I thought I’d give it a go. I started by looking through my cookbooks, then online and finally through the fridge to see what else I had to use up. Then it struck me! With all of this Kale and a huge Cauliflower I found in the fridge…why don’t I attempt to make something good, something experimental, something all on my own. Something that comes straight from my teeny, tiny, little brain. And I must say…the mouse was running on the wheel today my friends. It worked! I made this and it was fantastic!

So Good!!!

So Good!!!

Here’s what you need (Serves 2 as a meal on it’s own or 4-6 as a side dish):

  • 1 Cauliflower
  • 1 Large Bunch of Kale – stems removed
  • 1/2 of a Purple Onion
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic
  • Olive Oil or Extra Virgin
  • S & P

Here’s what to do:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. 

Chop up the Cauliflower into small bite size pieces and put them in a bowl. Toss with a drizzle of Olive Oil and Salt & Pepper to taste (I like mine salty). Make sure there is just enough Olive Oil to lightly touch the pieces. You don’t want to saturate them. Spread the Cauliflower evenly onto two baking sheets and place them in the oven. Set the timer to 30 minutes and let them make love to the heat.

While the Cauliflower’s cooking, cut the Kale into thin strips, I wanted mine really thin…almost like shaved cabbage. Toss them into the same bowl that the Cauliflower was tossed in. Now finely chop your onion and your garlic and toss them into the bowl with the Kale.

All together now.

All together now.

When the 30 minute timer goes off, add a little S & P to the Kale mixture and toss with some Olive Oil following the same rule as you did with the Cauliflower…not too much OO. Pull the Cauliflower out of the oven and mix it up a bit by flipping and rearranging the cooked veg and then add the Kale evenly over each baking sheet (yes, all over the Cauliflower). Pop them both back into the oven and set the timer for another 12 minutes. 

When the buzzer goes in 12 (or when the veg are baked to your satisfaction)…pour all the goodness into a large bowl, drizzle with Auntie P’s dressing (see below), toss and then eat. S’goooooooood.

No rating on this one because it’s made up and I’d be a tool to rate myself. But I will give the dressing which you are about to read, a 9 out of 10. 

Bon Appetit

Bon Appetit

I can’t take full credit on this recipe. My Auntie Pauline (who happens to be the very best Auntie in the whole Universe) was in Vancouver this past weekend for my birthday and on Monday night she made yet another epic meal. This woman can cook like nobodies business. One of the great many things I’ve learned over the many years I’ve been alive is how to make a really good salad dressing thanks to her. I use several variations of P’s dressings regularly and on Monday’s green salad she impressed my tastebuds, once again, with a new one. I used this dressing on my Kale salad and she was kind enough to send the recipe for me to share with all of you. And here it is:

Auntie P’s Dressing

  • Finely grate the peel of 1 small lemon
  • 1/3 Cup Lemon Juice
  • 1/3 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Tsp. Sea Salt
  • 1 generous Tsp. Dijon Mustard
  • 1 TBSP maple syrup or a bit of brown sugar
  • Several cloves of Garlic smashed and peeled

Put all ingredients into a jar with a tight lid and shake it up like crazy until it’s well blended (be careful though…I put my neck out once doing this). I’m telling you…keep this one handy. Pauline served it on a simple Red Leaf Lettuce salad with diced chives and mini cucumbers cut into loonies if my memory serves me. Simple but THE BEST!!

3 Comments on “8/52 Recipe Review

  1. Ween…there should also be 1/3 c. of regular olive oil in the salad dressing too…1/3 c lemon juice, 1/3 c lemon olive oil, and 1/3 c regular olive oil…I’m just sayin’.

  2. Pingback: 13/52 Recipe Review | Get the Skinny Fat

Leave a Reply

