4/52 Recipe Review

Full Disclosure: This recipe has nothing to do with my “SkinnyFat” mission but it’s so damn good I just had to post.

I am all about eating good quality foods with a healthy uptick but once in a while I crave a really good chocolate chip cookie in the worst way. Sometimes I buy them, sometimes I commission RJ to grab a few from his sisters place and sometimes I make them but up until now I had not found the perfect, plain ole chocolate chip cookie. I figure, if they’re made in my kitchen, with fresh ingredients from scratch, that’s gotta be kinda healthy right?

This recipe is from the back of a package of Safeway brand chocolate chips if you can believe it (I was desperate and wanted them NOW!). I whipped em up last week and just about died when I had the first bite. Let me put it this way…three dozen cookies lasted 26 hours in my kitchen. RJ made me promise to only make them once a month or he will be 400 lbs very very soon and everyone in this house was pretty stoked that I had summoned up the energy to bake these little morsels of goodness. These cookies are chewy, soft, a little crunchy around the edges and melt in your mouth guuuuhd. Props to Safeway! They get a 9 out of 10 on my scale and the only reason they lose that 1 point is because they are soooooo not the best thing for my ass. If anyone out there finds anything this yummy, yet low on calories and fat…fill me in on the deets.

You’re welcome, in advance.

"Dayam gurl…dem cookies is good"

“Dayam gurl…dem cookies is good”

  • 1 Cup Butter
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Tsp. Vanilla
  • 2 1/4 Cup Flour
  • 1 Tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Cup Shaved Almonds (recipe doesn’t call for these but I added them anyway…protein lol)
  • 1 Cup Milk Chocolate (next time I’m gonna use really good quality chunky dark chocolate and sprinkle the tops of each cookie with rock salt before throwing them in the oven…just a thought)

 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Stir together the flour, baking soda, & salt in a medium bowl.

In a mixer blend the butter with sugar, brown sugar, eggs & vanilla until smooth & creamy (medium speed).

Gradually blend in the dry mixture at a slower speed. Make sure to spatula the sides and bottom at least once then remix in order to eliminate all clumps.

Stir in the nuts and chocolate chips gently.

Scoop out spoonfuls on to parchment covered cookie sheets and bake for 9 to 11 minutes. I pull them out closer to 9 because I like them just cooked on the inside.

Enjoy! And give some away right away…they’re dangerous.

Leave a Reply

