1/52 Recipe Review

One of my New Years Resolutions was to try a new recipe every week. I have committed to this and after doing so I thought, “why not do a little review of each recipe on the blog?” I could write about how hard/easy it was, the amount of prep involved, how long it took to prepare, health benefits and most importantly…how it tasted! So, I’m gonna have a go of it. Like keeping me in shape I hope this blog will keep me honest on my 2014 cooking commitment. There are 52 weeks in a year so that’s 52 recipes. Sounds easy to me but we’ll see how easy it can be. I won’t be posting the recipe for everything I prepare but I will post a few along the way and I will always attach a link to where you can find it or at the very least, point you in the right direction.

Yesterday, (one day shy of the posting in the first week of 2014) I prepared my first recipe. A recipe by my favourite celebrity chef in the world, Ina Garten otherwise known as The Barefoot Contessa. I made her Spicy Turkey  & Spaghetti Meatballs except I used ground chicken in place of the turkey and didn’t have the red pepper flakes on hand so I left them out (they were still spicy enough because I used spicy Italian sausage). Let’s begin.

When I first read the recipe I thought, “this is going to be a huge undertaking”. Making my own bread crumbs, finely slicing a pound of proscuitto, dicing, chopping, mixing, soaking…I wasn’t sure this was for me. I’m all about taste however, with my schedule I need easy, simple ingredients. But then I looked at the picture again (those damn foodie photographers) and decided, it was Knox’s birthday coming up and he deserved a fancy dinner. Or I did at least, for pushing him out. And then what really motivated me to go for it was the fact that I had never made meatballs before.

Turns out, the prep was not nearly as hard as I thought nor was it overly time consuming. The bread crumbs were a breeze to make, the prosciutto was a little finicky (because of how thin it is) until I remember it was just going to be mixed up with a bunch of other meats so I decided to scrunch it up and then I chopped away. Problem solved. There was ground chicken, spicy Italian sausage, Asiago sheese, parsley, herbs & spices, eggs, bread crumbs and a whole lotta love from yours truly and let me tell you something… those balls were good. Like, really good. The only thing I didn’t love about the recipe was the marinara sauce. One of the additional reasons I ended up going with this recipe is because it calls for really good jarred Marinara (how easy is that?). I always make my pasta sauce from scratch so I had no clue what would be considered a “good” Marinara (would have been a good google moment KP). So the one I picked, wasn’t the best in my opinion. Other than that, I am definitely going to make these babies again.

Thank you to Auntie Stretch and Uncle Ryan for enjoying the balls with us as we rang in Knox’s 3rd birthday. We had, good wine, close friends, lots of fun, great conversation, birthday cake, a few presents, lots of smiles from the birthday boy, freshly grated parmesan cheese and a whole lot of meatballs. Great night! I think the boys even ate theirs too…was too busy enjoying myself to notice.

I give Ina’s meatballs a 7 out of 10 on the new scale I just made right now. Like just now I thought of this. I’m genius.

You can make this too at http://www.barefootcontessa.com/recipes.aspx?RecipeID=805&S=0. Bon appetite!

Soon all this meat will be one.

Soon all this meat will be one.

I think I might blow this one up and put it above my bed.

I think I might blow this one up and put it above my bed.

Just waiting for a little starch and carbs to lie down on and rest.

Just waiting for a little starch and carbs to lie down and have rest on.

Side note: Check out the foodie photographers name on the recipe link. He was born to photograph food.

2 Comments on “1/52 Recipe Review

Leave a Reply

