I Be Juicing

For Mothers Day I received a Vitamix from my thoughtful husband. I fuh-reaking love this thing! I’ve consumed more green vegetables in two weeks than I had in my entire life up to the point of receiving it not to mention the sneaky ways I’m getting more veggies into the kids. I’m hiding cucumber in their milkshakes, Kale in their banana/blueberry morning shakes and carrots into their orange juice. After doing some serious juicing/shaking over the past couple weeks, I’ve been able to establish a few favourites as well as a couple quick drinks that may not be the most flavourful but they are packed full with nutrition.

I’ll start here with the non yummy (keep in mind these are all tasty it’s just that some are made to be SUPER delicious & healthy and some are intended to be a quick consumption of greens).

Tonight, about an hour before dinner, I whipped this one up. I had prepared lasagne for supper so in order to give my tummy a little “pre dinner” fill, I made this quick lil puppy so I wouldn’t mow down as much lasagne as I know I am capable of. Here’s what I threw in:

  • 1.5 Cups Water
  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 4 Mint Leaves
  • 2 Cups Orange or Pineapple or 1 Cup of Each
  • 1 Handful Almonds
Looks Good

Looks colourful and good.

Even Knox wanted in on the action...till he tasted it.

Even Knox wanted in on the action…till he tasted it.

OK, next is one of my faves with thanks to Martha Stewart (finally something of hers I can make) and here’s a link to more of her wonderful shake ideas:

  • 1 Cup Strawberries
  • 1 Banana
  • 1/4 Cup Raw Almonds
  • 1/2 Cup Oats
  • 1 Cup Vanilla Yogurt (or low fat)
  • 1 Teaspoon Maple Syrup
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1 Cup Ice
Oh mercy this is good.

Oh mercy this is good.

This next one is courtesy of the Vitamix:

  • 1 Cup Green Grapes
  • 1 Orange (peeled)
  • 1/2 (or 1) Pear
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 Cup Kale
  • 1/2 Cup Water
  • 2 Cups Ice Cubes
Good and good for you.

Good and good for you.

My version.

My version.

A little extra tip via my girlfriend Tanya; use coconut water in place of regular water for the added flavour. I haven’t tried this yet but she and her husband are blending professionals so I definitely take her word for it.

I highly recommend purchasing this blender if you get a chance. Not cheap I know but the benefits are worth the investment in my humble opinion. I have several friends who have had one for over a year and have raved about it’s worthwhile investment but it wasn’t until I got my own that I realized what all the rage was about. It is simply a quick and EASY way to consume more veggies and fruits and now there’s no excuse for not getting them into my body. My girlfriend Terri just asked me tonight, what is the difference between the Vitamix and a regular blender? In a nutshell it completely pulverizes whatever you put into it so the result is a smooth shake when you’re done as opposed to a lumpy gritty one. It’s practically a juicer. I suggest clicking on the link to see some more examples of what it’s capable of.

And remember, the varieties of shakes are endless…listed above are just a few of my faves.

Peace out!

Sidenote: Knox looked at me today and said “Ina shish ooh shace”. After asking him to repeat this over and over so I could figure out what he was saying and getting nowhere I said “Show me”. He puckered his lips, put his hands on each of my cheeks and kissed me gently on the lips then said “Ina (I want to) shish (kiss) ooh (your) shace (face) Mommy” . I can die now.

3 Comments on “I Be Juicing

Leave a Reply

