Oh No!

So, I’ve encountered a wee bit of a problem this past week. Knox has landed right smack dab in the middle of toddler and preschooler. He still flings food around and draws on furniture with a Sharpie just as an average male toddler might do but he is capable of more physical activities such as riding a push bike, putting on hockey/soccer gear and following his brothers around the neighbourhood such as a preschooler. My problem? He will no longer hang around while I do my workout. This!…is tragic. For me anyway.

I had gotten used to him  dancing around with me so I was not prepared this week for the significant change in my routine. I am going to have to go back to doing nights (which I hate) or early mornings (which I hate even more). On the days I’m not in the office I can do it during nap time but boy do I LOVE that time to myself to just chill and relax. Ah well…t’is life. I’ll readjust my schedule and get into a new routine soon enough…I have faith.

Needless to say, this past week has been…well…weak. I have had some seriously choppy workouts. 5 minutes of cardio, 5 minutes of chasing Knox around, sometimes getting back to the cardio, sometimes not etc. etc. At least he will still sit and watch a Dora while I get my Transform workout done. RJ’s been away too which doesn’t help.

On the upside, his ability to do new things does mean I am able to do more fitness outside which is awesome. I threw Knox on the back of the tandem yesterday (he can’t touch the pedals but he has a spot for his feet) and we headed out for an excellent bike ride. Cash & Jude rode along with us to the candy store then up to the base of the Lynn Loop in Lynn Canyon. We planted ourselves right next to the river and the boys chowed on candy while I sat there thinking about how lucky I was to live in such a beautiful city.  We had a great conversation my boys and I. I couldn’t answer half of the questions Cash had for me regarding the river (I think this 7 year old is already smarter than me I me) but I did my best. Those boys are so smart, funny and interesting…I am blessed.

Here are a couple of photos from where we were. I promised Cash no camera and no phone so I got these pictures of Lynn Canyon off the web.

A similar trail to the one we hiked. So beautiful.

A similar trail to the one we hiked. So beautiful.

This is kinda what our view looked like. Eye candy while eating candy.

This is kinda what our view looked like. Eye candy while eating candy.

Well, a little catch up on what I’ve been doing with regards to reaching my goal for the summer. It seems that if I don’t write about it, I won’t keep up with it.

Have a good one!

KP

Leave a Reply

