Nom Nom Nom

I get a bit of a hard on for anything deep fried. Especially if it’s deep fried and then covered in salt.

Tonight I went for kinda deep fried, kinda healthy. Yes, there is such a thing. Ever since I watched an episode of Jamie Oliver’s “Food Revolution” where he described the horrendous ingredients in frozen chicken strips at the same time as explaining how easy it is to make them from scratch with fresh ingredients, I make them all the time AND they’re the best! Tender, juicy, crunchy and most of all…tasty! The extra added bonus? The kids devour them. Tonight I whipped up a batch for dinner and decided to blog about it so you too can enjoy this easy, healthy, yummy dinner.

I start with three smallish bowls and a couple boneless chicken breasts (tonight I actually used chicken tenders as they were on sale and they really are the most tender part of the chicken).

  • In bowl #1 a Cup or two of flour. I add salt and pepper to taste here…just wing it.
  • In bowl #2 crack a couple of eggs and whisk.
  • In bowl #3 a mixture of bread crumbs, minced fresh (or dry) herbs like parsley, oregano and thyme. I like to add a little Panko too. Sometimes I do Panko and coconut or Panko and parmesan cheese mixed up with some fresh herbs. You can doctor these up however you like. Chilli peppers? The list is endless.
Bowl 1, Bowl 2 & Bowl 3

Bowl 1, Bowl 2 & Bowl 3

In a large skillet on the stove, pour in a generous amount of vegetable oil and heat to a medium temperature.

Line up your bowls in an assembly type arrangement like this:

Assembly Line

Assembly Line

Then go ahead and start dipping your chicken. Cover with flour, swim in egg, coat with breadcrumbs and place it in the oil. I always like to reduce the heat to just under medium before I cook the chicken to keep from browning too too much. It should look a little something like this:

Chicken Cooking

Chicken Cooking

Just keep a good eye on these by checking out the bottom with tongs. When they are golden brown on the underside, flip. Once completely cooked, place them on a plate lined with paper towel.

Check it!

Ready to eat.

Ready to eat.

So there they are…ready to go. I pull out my Kale chips from the oven and dinner is served. Now this is obviously not a meal you’re going to eat if you are cleansing or detoxing or anything like that but it is surprisingly a light dinner. I serve it with salad or like tonight, Kale chips or Yam fries even. The most important thing for me is knowing that my kids are eating a rounded meal and I know every single ingredient they are digesting in their little bodies. And……..I get my deep fry fix.

Judes Plate. Empty in 3...2...

Judes Plate. Empty in 3…2…

I hope I explained that all properly…it’s pretty straight forward. I know the photos suck ass but…no buts. I am one tired little lady so I’m off to bed now.

Peace out & love.

One Comment on “Nom Nom Nom

Leave a Reply

