Backyard BBQ…ing My Muscles

So I headed outside yesterday to work up a sweat in the backyard. It was a spectacular day here in Vancouver. We are so used to the wet and the cold and the rain… like seriously used to it. RJ was out with the older boys and I usually do my workout with all three but this time I only had Knox so I thought “this’ll be easy.”  That thought would become the under prediction of the year.

It’s been a very frustrating time with Knox these days as he is in the midst of his “terrible twos” and is testing me constantly. He’s actually taken the moniker “Terrible Twos” to a whole other level I do believe. I really thought when I cranked the tunes in the yard and started to dance around he’d be all over it but he was having none of it. After a long swim at Nanny’s and no nap he was not willing to cooperate in any way, shape or form. So I set him up with a Thomas & Friends. Tucked him in on the couch with a blanket and a NUK, right next to the back door overlooking my little workout station and I told him the door must stay open. He said “Oh tay mummy” in a sweet little voice and I hit the ground dancing. It wasn’t 3 minutes in when I heard the door slam. I continued for another 30 seconds then went in to check on the little bugger. This is what I found.

IMG_1858I am not sure how, but after a long hard day with this little human being, I managed to not do anything drastic. I picked him up (nearly in tears at this point…it had been a looooong frustrating day) and hauled him off to his room for a 2 (well lets just say no more than 5) minute break. My word…being a parent is hard. Really hard. It’s a mental job and by mental I mean, it’s amazing that more of us don’t go all Amanda Bynes on each other. To his credit, I definitely could have picked a better time to do the workout. Like maybe…when he went down for the night. On the other hand, I really wanted to do it outside and dinner wasn’t going to make itself an hour later. He’s usually so good and seems to like it so…terrible twos I guess…terrible twos.

Anyhoo…I wiped this disaster up, grabbed the little beast from his room and went at it again. This time he managed to watch the show for 15 minutes which gave me at least a bit of time to get some workout it. Here are a few snaps from the yard.

Jumpin

Jumpin

Hoppin

Hoppin

Be Boppin

Be Boppin

And the next succession of photo’s should explain how it all ended.

The Grab

The Grab

The Pick Me Up

The Pick Me Up

Sweet Success...He Wins.

Sweet Success…He Wins.

Hey, at least I got some Tracy in and I slept well last night. I’m gonna be working the yard over all week. It’s supposed to be a beauty.

Also, if you want to see a pic of my workout station I posted one on Twitter. You can see those images in the right hand column of the blogeroni.

KP xox

Sidenote: Super nervous about my Before & Afters tomorrow. Aaaahk.

3 Comments on “Backyard BBQ…ing My Muscles

Leave a Reply

