1:04:25

My results…1:04:25. And surprisingly (to me anyway) I managed to run the whole thing…at an obviously slow and steady pace.

It was an incredible experience to be around so many people doing the same thing. Very emotional for me at times, running around a corner and discovering a bunch of strangers cheering me on and encouraging me to keep going it. I had to keep myself from getting too emotional because as the lump formed in my throat, my airway would close. I told RJ I was so relieved in the end that he and the kids couldn’t make it because I would have been an absolute blubbering disaster if I came across that cheering squad.

Tonya and I met up with Suzanne at JJ Bean downtown at around 8:45am. I had a latte with the girls and then we headed up to Georgia where the race began. It took quite a while to get through the masses of people before reaching the street with the other runners but once we squeezed our way in, it was maybe 20 minutes before it was our turn to go. The first 2K are always a bit of a bitch for me. It takes me a while to get into a breathing rhythm that is perfect. 2 to 5K were pretty good less a couple of cramps/stitches. I made sure to take big deep breaths in order to get rid of those nasty little pains. Once I hit 5K it was smooth sailing to the end. I felt great. Breathing was perfection, pace was good (again slow) and from 5K on I just felt like I was close to the end. By the time I crossed the finish line I actually felt like I could go on forever. I didn’t want to and was extremely happy to stop but I felt great! Almost too great. I told Stretch I was worried…”Shouldn’t I be keeled over right now, gasping for air?” I could have stood there and talked for an hour…it was the strangest thing. I’m not bragging. Honestly…I was sincerely shocked by this.

Today…I’m suffering. When I got home from the run I just wanted to have a long hot bath and sleep. RJ is in Alberta for work so unfortunately that was not a reality for me. I’ve never tried so hard to get Knox to just lay down on the couch with me and watch a Thomas & Friends. I was actually begging him. No go: ( Thankfully our adorable young neighbour Katie loooooves Knox and came by to play with him for a bit.

I woke up today and my legs were hurting. Still are. I’m walking like the Tin Man and am absolutely terrified about tomorrow. My legs always hurt 10 times more 2 days later so I predict tomorrows going to be a long, hard, painful day.

All in all I am very proud of my small achievement. I made a few rookie mistakes like hopping up on the sidewalk at which point I managed to almost knock a guy down (that ate up a couple minutes of my time right there, just checking in on him etc.). I do regret not training a little bit more as I would have loved to beat an hour but… there’s always next year. I also regret not meeting up with a few of the girls that I know made it down to run but I was simply unable to see. Terri, Holly & Lissa…xox.

Lastly, the original plan was to have RJ come down with the boys to watch and take pictures but yet another scheduling conflict got in the way. The result, not much of a photo journal. I did manage to get a few pic’s with my iPhone and here’s what I got.

Here I am Saturday morning at the package pick up.

Here I am Saturday morning at the package pick up.

Got my number and my shirt. Nerves are kicking in and this smile is so fake. I'm thinking "What have I gotten myself into?" Also a proud moment...that crane in the background belongs to my brothers and their company name hangs from the top of it. So proud of those guys.

Got my number and my shirt. Nerves are kicking in and this smile is so fake. I’m thinking “What have I gotten myself into?” Also a proud moment…that crane in the background belongs to my brothers and their company name hangs from the top of it. So proud of those guys.

First thing on the morning of the race. In a daze and not quite sure what is about to happen.

First thing on the morning of the race. In a daze and not quite sure what is about to happen.

Hooked up with Stretch and we are almost ready to go. I need a reeeeally good coffee first.

Hooked up with Stretch and we are almost ready to go. I need a reeeeally good coffee first. And no, the hats were not preplanned.

Our little running group! We're together and ready to rock n' roll now.

Our little running group! We’re together and ready to rock n’ roll now.

Lots of people. I'm looking for you here Holly!

Lots of people. I’m looking for you here Holly!

And I'm looking for you here Terri.

And I’m looking for you here Terri.

The jackets coming off.

The jackets coming off.

Another 2 minutes off my time for this. Had to get a picture on the Burrard Street Bridge. I then proceeded to run right down the middle...it felt gooood.

Another 2 minutes off my time for this. Had to get a picture on the Burrard Street Bridge. I then proceeded to run right down the middle…it felt gooood.

Well, that’s it for now. I really look forward to doing it again next year. I enjoyed the energy, the people, the experience and the emotion surrounding this event. And I know it’s just a little 10K but I’m proud of my girls…and me!

KP xox

Leave a Reply

