Mmmm Mmmm Good

I’ve been hitting up the Tracy Anderson pretty hard lately. After my disappointing March I had to get back on the horse so to speak. I feel great and have managed to get my LB’s down to what they were before spring break whilst eating my favourite varieties of yummy food. Which brings me to todays post. FOOD!

It’s been a while since I’ve done a foodie post. I’m really a pretty terrible cook. I’m an excellent baker but the reason behind this is it’s requirement of specific quantities of ingredients. I think this is why cooks generally say they don’t like to bake and vice versa. A really good cook can taste a dish mid prep and know immediately what it needs. I need instruction. I need direction. I need a recipe.

Gwyneth Paltrow has just released her second cookbook “It’s All Good” which I was super sceptical about purchasing because of the mixed reviews it seemed to be getting. I’ve made a couple of things out of her first cook book. Some flopped, some I prepare on a regular basis and some I still need to try. I was also thrown off after hearing the 2nd cookbook is all health and goodness. I know that sounds ridiculous but I haven’t enjoyed most of the dishes I’ve made from recipes that focus on “only healthy ingredients” or that are “gluten or sugar or fat free”. To the defence of healthy recipes, I’ve only tried a handful because…I love my butter, my salt, my rich meat & dressings and gluten has never been a problem for me.

The other day we were in a Safeway that was selling Gwyneth’s new cookbook in their produce department. I let RJ meander the isles with the boys while I flipped through it’s pages. I had only a few minutes to myself so I looked for pictures of plates that stood out as being my kind of dish and then scanned the ingredients involved in making it. At a glance, I was impressed and inspired. So much so that I came home, whipped up one of the recipes I remembered (a quick avocado spread) and “Tweeted” a pic before devouring it.

Tonight I took the liberty of making a dish for the family right out of “It’s All Good”. This one was sent out on Goopie’s newsletter http://www.goop.com a couple of weeks ago. Here’s the link to this particular recipe: http://goop.com/journal/make/218/its-all-good

I LOVED it.

The kids devoured it.

RJ said “This is tasty”. (Major emphasis on the is)

AND it was healthy!

Here are the pic’s I took along the way. Please keep in mind these were taken in my iPhone. A foodie photographer I am not.

Super quick prep. Just throw all the ingredients in one big bowl.

Super quick prep. Just throw all the ingredients in one big bowl.

The recipe says nothing about Bok Choy but I decided to copy the photograph. I literally can not improvise anything when it comes to cooking.

The recipe says nothing about Bok Choy but I decided to copy the photograph. I literally can not improvise anything when it comes to cooking.

We drizzled it all with a bit of Soy Sauce an boy was it good. Delish!

We drizzled it all with a bit of Soy Sauce and boy was it good. Delish!

Needless to say, “It’s All Good” is on the very top of my non existent Mothers Day gift wish list.

Peace out ladies & gents.

Leave a Reply

