Heaven on Earth

I can’t believe it’s April. This year is absolutely flying by and with the days passing this quickly I am beginning to panic. March was a brutal month with regards to fitness for me. The first two weeks were sick sick sick and the last two weeks were Spring Break which made it very hard to work out. If I wasn’t at the office I had all three kids with me so time and energy was limited. For the last 4 days of the break we headed up to our cabin to celebrate Easter with my brother and his family. It was their weekend (the four of us rotate) and we were so grateful that they included us in a whole weekend of festivities (one of which was a killer Easter Egg Hunt for the kids).

This island (in my opinion) is the most beautiful place on earth. It’s very special to me and is a place I grew up going to every summer. There is no electricity, no stores, no cars (well the odd jeep to transport luggage) and the kids can roam free with very limited restriction as to the distance they can wander from home. A freedom and independence that is impossible to provide for them in the city. I managed to get a couple of small runs in and did some Tracy Anderson as well. I wish I brought my camera with me on one run because I would have had a funny video for you. Not only did I fall hard at one point but it occurred to me half way into a run that there was no one around me. I was deep in the forest so if I took a few minutes to do some Tracy Anderson cardio only the trees could judge. I had my iShuffle playing my tunes and I cut up a rug to the beat. Anyone outside of my head would have seen some crazy woman dancing in the bush to birds tweeting and leaves rustling in the wind. It was truly liberating once I got into it.

On the last night, after a run, my sister-in-law Leslie and I went down to a part of the island where there is a large flat grassy area and we did some arms and legs. It was so beautiful. Though I have never worked out here, I do have friends and neighbours in the Bay that have pulled out some Yoga moves in the same spot. It’s magical.

Here are some pics:

This is where Leslie & I got down with some Tracy Anderson.

This is where Leslie & I got down with some Tracy Anderson.

Here we are working our asses off. 22...23...24...25...

Here we are working our asses off. 22…23…24…25…

Leslie doing her Tracy Anderson arms.

Leslie doing her Tracy Anderson arms.

Me working my arms over too.

Me working my arms over too.

The kind of roads I get to run.

The kind of roads I get to run.

Another pretty running trail.

Another pretty running trail.

Just showing off now.

Just showing off now.

Me and my sista!

Me and my sista! Check out the cute cottage behind us…they’re all like that. I have got to stop bragging…

As much as I enjoyed my March, I am really glad it’s over. Physically I improved NOT. I got no worse but got no better so tonight I did the full hour workout. I have Before & Afters this week. I will realistically do them on the weekend and will post Monday. I’m not looking forward to doing these ones…at all.

I do have one bonus picture. It’s a Before & After I took tonight. I took it because I put on my workout pants and realized they were kind of baggy. They are the pants I wore for my original “Befores” so I grabbed the sports bra as well and took a pic from behind. Here it is!

Bit of a change huh? Thanks Tracy.

Bit of a change huh? Thanks Tracy.

OK now I’ll shut up…till tomorrow.

3 Comments on “Heaven on Earth

  1. Well obviously, this is my favourite post so far. What a stunning evening that was…the pictures look great. Thanks for introducing me to Tracey Anderson’s workouts…it’s not as easy as it looks. I felt like Tin Man with those legs after awhile and someone needed to find me an oil can! Great before and after picture too Karen!

Leave a Reply

