When It Rains It Pours

I had a realization today.

After my workout on Friday afternoon, I got a little bit drunkypoo. It was innocent, just had a nuts day with a little bit of stress mixed in and I was just really looking forward to a glass of wine (thanks Hoolio for my first glass…mmmmmmmmmm). With wine came the desire to not make dinner so I threw a frozen pizza in the oven for the kids and ordered Thai for me & RJ. It was actually quite a nice evening “but” there’s always a downside. The next day, feeling dehydrated and a little bit heavy between the ears, I was craving grease. A pile of waffles with whipped cream and syrup hit the spot for the time being. Since I hadn’t had grease for breakfast I nibbled on a burger for lunch. Dinner and Sunday kind of followed suit and what’s worse is there were no workouts crammed in there anywhere. Yesterday was pretty similar and by that time I was feeling grande….and gross. Seriously, gross.

After hockey tonight, I came home, put Knox to bed and went downstairs to rock it out. I was not in the mood but it HAD to be done.

1 hour later? I felt like a million bucks. Had some cucumber dipped in tzatziki for a snack and I’m working on a nice litre of water as we speak not to mention my body is feeling gooooooood.

Realization: no workout = eating terribly = lack of motivation = feeling disgusting = feeling grande and soft.

Lesson: Always get in some fitness. Doesn’t have to be big…just get something done in the day and the other healthy habits will follow.

Sidenote: Did you know that cramps when doing fitness come from lack of oxygen? So if you feel a little cramp coming on, take some deep breathes and it should go away. I always thought it was from too much water or not enough or that I had to hold my hands over my head for it to go away. All myths…the deep breathing works every time!

Leave a Reply

