Ridiculously Easy Kale Chips

I know this is kinda Nik’s domain now but I just have to pass this along. I finally made my first batch of Kale Chips this weekend and I was shocked at a couple of things:

  1. How tasty they were.
  2. How easy they were to make.

A crunchy, salty snack with a prep time that took me literally (and I don’t throw “literally” around loosely) 5 minutes.

Below you will find the recipe with a pic of my chips and the book that inspired them (gotta give props to the cook book and my girl GP).

What you will need:

  • 1 Big bunch of Kale
  • Olive Oil
  • Course Salt (I love salt so I used rock)

What to do:

  •  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
  • Remove the stems from the Kale and break the leaves into 2″ pieces. Throw the Kale into a bowl and drizzle with olive oil. Toss the Kale with your hands so that each leaf is lightly coated with oil.
  • Spread the Kale onto a baking sheet and sprinkle with salt. The prep up to this point was so easy and quick I had to wait a couple of minutes for the oven to finish preheating.
  • Throw the pan in the oven for 12 – 15 minutes or until lightly browned and crispy.
  • Chow down!

Without a doubt I will be doing this a couple of times a week. They were that tasty and super easy. There is one down side…I smiled at RJ after having a few chips later in the evening and he looked at me like I had leeches hanging off my face. When I checked myself out in the mirror I laughed my ass off because there were little bits of Kale between almost all my teeth. I looked puuuurdy. Watch for that!

Crunch Crunch Crunch

Crunch Crunch Crunch

One last thing. I’m not sure if this is good advice or not but I left these in the bowl uncovered on the counter for two days and just nibbled at them as I cruised through. They stayed crispy and perfect. Yum!

2 Comments on “Ridiculously Easy Kale Chips

  1. Hey, are you going to blog all my tips before you post my write up?
    I leave mine uncovered on the counter and snack on them on the fly by too. They last for days and days and days. I make a batch every other week.
    Skip a week or you will get a little bored of them, or, read my post to come on how to change them up from week to week 😉

Leave a Reply

