Snowshoeing

I am so blessed to live in such a magnificent part of the world. Since I am a girl that was raised on the West Coast of British Columbia, I have survived hundreds of thousands of days of rain in my lifetime. However, when a spectacular stretch of sunny days come along, all the depressing days of darkness seem to disappear from memory. Lucky for me and my memory, the past few days have been sunny and crisp so I took advantage of it all with a little snowshoeing expedition.

On Thursday one of my oldest and dearest friends Carla and I headed a few kilometres north to Whistler to visit another friend of ours, Shannon,  who has a spankin new pad for her family’s winter getaways. We left Vancouver first thing in the morning with Knox and Wesley (Carla’s daughter) in tow. Almost as soon as we arrived, we connected with a trusted babysitter who would take care of our 3 little monkeys (Shannon was in Whistler with her youngest daughter Taylor) and we headed off to the trails at Lost Lake. OMG it was soooo beautiful let me tell you. What an experience. I decided ahead of time to document this trip in pictures and thank goodness I had made that call because there really are no words in my opinion. I had a few little personal blunders along the way (which is…well…welcome to my world). These blunders (or fuck ups) included paying for our McDonalds at the drive thru and then driving away before being handed the food (my first Big Mac Combo in over three months by the way). I am so lucky to have a friend like Carla who has witnessed my mindlessness for years and still manages to take very good care of me with an incredible amount of patience. I’ll start off my photo journal with my second blunder (first blunder was us having to turn back to the house to get a bottle and a soother for Knox…I can NOT leave home without those important devices).

Cruising Up the Highway

Cruising up the highway in the Swagin Wagon

Carla Getting Geared Up

Carla Getting Geared Up

Um... something's wrong here. Just another Karen blunder...snowshoes on the wrong feet.

Um… something’s wrong here. Just another Karen blunder…snowshoes on the wrong feet.

K...I think we're all ready to roll now.

K…I think we’re all ready to roll now.

Look at the beauty ahead of us.

Uh oh Shan is that a cougar up ahead? There are definitely two on your tail.

My attempt at an action shot.

My sad attempt at an action shot. Carla was really getting into the hike as you can see.

Carla & Shannon booking it up the hill...another action attempt.

Carla & Shannon booking it up the hill while I go for another action shot and try my best to keep up. Nice arses ladies.

We came across a kind fellow who offered to take our picture. Thank you kind stranger.

We came across a lovely fellow who offered to take our picture. Thank you kind stranger.

We came across this cute little Christmas Tree at the top of a hill. So cute and look at the freaking view!

We also came across this cute little Christmas Tree at the top of a hill. So very Charlie Brown and look at the freaking view!

So many trails to choose from...I'll leave the map up to the smarties.

So many trails to choose from…I’ll leave the map up to the smarties.

Me & Shannon trekking up a hill. Puff puff puff...

Me & Shannon trekking up a hill. Puff puff puff…

Beauty of Nature

Beauty of Nature (Hey is that Phyllis and Nick making out behind that tree?)

Unbelievable vies around every corner...it was spectacular.

Insane views around every corner…it was spectacular. As best said by the Terminator…I’ll be back.

We had such a killer hike and seriously, the beauty of it all was sincerely breathtaking. We most definitely had to cap our day off with a glass of wine accompanied by an orgasm for the tastebuds at Trattoria di Umberto. Thanks for the makeout sesh Tratt…yum yum.

There really is no other way to finish off an incredible hike  than with a delicious lunch with your best buddies. Cheers!

There really is no other way to finish off an incredible hike, or anything for that matter, than by enjoying a delicious lunch with your best buddies. Cheers!

Side note: I love…actually adore Tracy Anderson but I have GOT to do more fitness outside… I mean really.

3 Comments on “Snowshoeing

  1. Ya, but you obviously haven’t been watching. I know, I know, “I just don’t have time anymore, now that I workout and eat right all the time.” Pu-leez! You make time, dammit!

Leave a Reply

