Beets

Straight from the earth to your kitchen table, now that’s what I’m talking about.

My back yard might look a bit like this during the summer of 2013.

My back yard might look a bit like this during the summer of 2013.

This time away from working out (due this cold I’m fighting) has freed me up to focus on some food prep and research. Beets (obviously) are my topic today. If you’ve read my “About” page you know that my parents passed away quite young of both cancer and ALS so one of my main goals with this blog process is to educate myself on how I can take the best care of my body in order to be around for my three boys. There are only 3 things I can think of that we are responsible for putting into our body in order to live another day; Oxygen, Water  and Food.

As far as oxygen goes, we live on this beautiful planet covered in ocean and trees and lucky for me, I am surrounded by HUGE Evergreen trees. I’m going to trust that if we are kind to the earth that we are so fortunate to be a part of, the trees will return the favour by continuing to fill our lungs with fresh air with our every breath.

H2O, another thing I rely on this beautiful planet for and also something we as residence need to be responsible with. I fortunately live in a place where the tap water tastes better than bottled water (in my opinion) and I have absolutely no problem with this one as I love the stuff and desire nothing else to quench my thirst.

As for the food…I have to hold myself responsible for what I eat. There has been and still is so much to learn about the benefits of good healthy eating. I have been learning an insane amount over these past few weeks and have been trying to incorporate what I learn into as much of my daily routine as possible. A lot of the information I read is pretty common sense stuff but there have been some big surprises along the way.

Today I focus on beets. Here are just a few of their many benefits. My personal favourite is #5! After the plus’s I will give you a little tip on an easy prep for your week ahead.

  1. Beets have ZERO trans fat and ZERO saturated fat. They are also low calorie! How’s that for a food to satisfy your hunger and have the ability to satisfy a sweet tooth at the same time? You’ve got to love a food that meets a sugar craving and doesn’t harm your body!
  2. Beets are high in carbohydrates which means they are a great instant energy source, but unlike processed foods which are high in carbohydrates, beets will energize your body. Beets can be regarded as body fuel.
  3. Beets contain sodium, magnesium, calcium, iron and phosperous! They are also considered a fiber food and contain vitamins A and C as well as niacin! You can’t beat that!
  4.  Beets contain folic acid which is necessary for the production and maintenance of new cells. This is especially important for pregnant woman or anyone undergoing physical healing. Many people take folic acid in the form of herbal supplements, but if you eat beets, you won’t need to! It is always better for the body to receive it’s nutrients and vitamins through food over a supplement because it is like mainlining the natural source into your bloodstream. The benefits are far superior and faster with real food over powder mixes or pills.
  5.  Studies have shown that beets guard against cancer, especially colon cancer.
  6.  Medical studies have also shown that including beets in your diet helps protect a body against heart disease.
  7. Beets are available all year round! So they are not difficult to find in any produce section if you want them fresh!

So here’s what I did tonight (thank you Holly for being patient with me while I blog prepared, chatted, fed our little kiddies and drank wine all at the same time…you’re the best).

I pulled out and washed the beets.

Here tehy are! Raw and ready to go.

Here they are! Raw and ready to go.

I wrapped them in tin foil.

photo copy

All ready for the oven.

Threw them in the oven at 375 degrees for an hour or so…maybe 15 minutes more.

Then I took them out and when a fork slid nicely into them I let them cool.

photo copy 3

Look at that beautiful colour.

Half an hour later, I peeled the skin off of them. They slide right off with a knife or your hands if you want to get really messy.

All peeled and pretty.

All peeled and pretty.

Then I cut them into 1″ cubes.

Yummy as is.

Yummy as is.

Then it’s all up to you. Add them to a salad with goat cheese, some toasted almonds, sliced orange, purple onion and your favourite vinaigrette (look for my tweet tomorrow to take a peak at my lunch), put a few pieces on your dinner plate with some roasted chicken, hummus and a hard boiled egg or just toss them in a container with a vinaigrette and nibble on them all week when you feel like a sweet snack. I think I’ll do it all my friends…I think I’ll do it all.

My colon is getting stronger just thinking about it!

Peace out lovelies.

2 Comments on “Beets

  1. I am hoping that I’ve figured out how to comment on your blog Karen and that you actually see this! I love beets! I have made a salad three times this week made of butter lettuce, roasted beets, goat cheese, and champagne vinaigrette. This is a copy cat of the fabulous salad I had at Nordstrom’s on our Seattle weekend away. I bought their vinaigrette dressing. One hint, you don’t have to wrap your beets in foil for roasting (help save the planet)…just throw them on a broiler tray and the skins come away very easily at the end.

    Also, whenever I get a chance to enjoy a fresh juice from a juice bar, it’s always orange and beet juice for me! Beautiful colour and beautiful taste and loads of vitamins.

    Shouldn’t you share a tip about don’t panic after eating beets when your pee is pink?

    xo Les.

    • Les, thanks for the “No Tin Foil” tip. I’m on it next time for sure! And yes…pink pee is healthy pee (unless you didn’t eat beets at which point you should definitely see your Dr.). K xox

Leave a Reply

