Prep

So this evening I finally took the time to get some food prepped for my days. I’m embarrassed that this hasn’t happen sooner considering the fact that today’s the 5th and I started my new food program on the 1st. Let’s just say the 2nd – 5th were a wash since I was not focussing on my diet due to my unpreparedness. I’m absolutely shocked at how much preparation is required. It’s not like I’ve never maintain a healthy lifestyle ever in my life. In fact, I was able to achieve and maintain my current “goal weight” several years ago (9 years AAAAHH!) by utilizing the “South Beach Diet” program. The one very significant difference between now and then is 3 loud, messy, busy and beautiful children. Pre children I had all the time in the world to pre make salads to take to work. I could go for a run along the river and stop by a restaurant on the way home with a friend to have a fresh salad with shrimp. Quite simply, I could get up in the morning, shower and get ready for work, make some coffee, a couple of hard boiled eggs or whip up an omelette and when I was done, grab my keys, walk out the door and go to work all whilst listening only to my thoughts. These days are over. OVER. I’m not complaining, I’m just stating that this is a major factor in my life which has been a reality check. I am now accepting the fact that I definitely need to put in some time at the beginning of each week in order to be prepared.

Here’s what I did:

I’ll start with one of my favourite veggies. Broccoli is an amazing power food and I love it only one way…steamed. Raw is blah! I’ve steamed a whole bunch to take to work for the next 2 days. I don’t want this sitting in the fridge for more than 2 days or it gets all wrinkled and old. I love eating it plain, I love eating it sprinkled with salt & pepper & I love dipping it in hummus. Yum yum yum. I also sautéed half a head of red cabbage with some shredded carrot, EVOO and salt and pepper. I’ll heat up the cabbage with some broccoli for lunch tomorrow and not only will it be tasty but it will look beautiful. Look for a picture on twitter (@theskinnyfat if you’re not following already).

Power Food

I hard boiled some eggs to grab on my way out the door. The kids love them too!

Little Protein Pockets

And I reloaded the fruit bowl.

Always Easy for a Quick Grab

I know these may seem a bit lame but they are necessary and I did some “pre” prep for a couple of things that I’ll show you along the way. I will also be tweeting a lot of great snacks. Make sure to check out those tweets yo!

Leave a Reply

