Goodbye My dear Friend

No More Margaritas, G & Ts, Leechy Martinis, Cosmos etc. etc. etc.

Yep, it’s true. I’m cutting alcohol loose for the month of November. No, it’s not because I have issues with alcohol nor is it because I’m getting ready to booze it up for the festive month of December (though this is a reality of the holidays) and I don’t plan on carrying this tradition on past the month of November. This is simply to cut calories and to sort of cleanse the system. I normally don’t drink any wine or alcohol throughout the week but I do on the weekend. A couple of glasses of wine with dinner Friday night, maybe a couple more with friends on Saturday night. Just enough to lower my motivation the next day. I don’t really know what happens because I don’t have to be nursing a hangover, I’ll be just dehydrated enough to say to myself “maybe if I get a 2 cheeseburger combo and take the top off of each burger it won’t be so bad”. Then of course when I open the bag I notice that crazy bitch in the window put fries in my bag. Guess I don’t want those to go to waste. Anyhoo…I digress. Ultimately, the ‘NO BOOZE” clause is meant to keep me honest, help cut calories, and help me get to the next stage of this journey I’m on. I start tomorrow so you can bet I’ll be having a little glass of Cabernet with my chocolate goodies tonight.

Nikki’s Num Nums

Tomorrow I start changing my food up as well. As I’ve mentioned before, I was just focussing on my fitness for the month of October. Now that I’ve proven that I can do some sort of work out consistently for a month (which has been an utter shock to me), I am going to incorporate some healthy eating too. This is in no way a diet. I am not excluding anything specific (with the exception of alcohol), I’m just being smart about what I put in my mouth (so many good jokes I could insert here but I’ll let you do that yourself). More eggs & fruit and less toast with jam in the morning. More salads and less sandwiches for lunch. More lean meats with veggies for dinner and less chicken pot pie type buttery, lovely thingies. I’m really looking forward to the fresh start but most of all I’m looking forward to seeing the results.

A quick shout out to one of my devoted supporters and best friends Nicole (Nikki) Murray. The salad pictured here was made by and photographed by her. She has given me so many yummy food suggestions over the past couple of weeks which has been so incredibly helpful. Nik has lost a tonne of weight since giving birth to her second beautiful baby boy and says most of it dropped thanks to a healthy diet. If you could see her body right now believe me…you’d do whatever she’s doing. I would have posted the picture of her ass to show you my “Goal Ass” but I thought she might not like that.

Keep me honest ladies. If I even come close to wavering you just put me in my place.

Karen xox

2 Comments on “Goodbye My dear Friend

  1. K, you can post a pic if you photo shop out the dimples, smooth out the lumps, trim a little from the sides and blur out any shots of my face, or just do the latter this is a blog about the truth and we all have imperfections.

    PS the salad took me only 3 minutes to put it together (I timed it cause I was warming a bottle for Heath) including making the dressing from scratch. I made the base of the salad a few days prior to this meal it included: one head of romaine lettuce (from the three packs they are sold in), half cucumber, half zucchini, one pepper. So I grab a couple handfuls of the base and add what I want when Im ready to eat it, this one pictured had the following added: one hard, couple slices of avocado, small handful of cranberries, sliced almonds, crumbled feta cheese and dressing. Dressing is a spoon of Dijon mustard, spoon of honey, drizzle of white wine vinegar or cider vinegar, couple shakes of cayenne pepper, dollop of olive oil. shaken up in a small baby food jar. Your done.

Leave a Reply

