Yummay…

Firstly, I’d like to apologize for yesterdays post. I was having some technical difficulties posting some video. I will figure out what went wrong and then make sure you get an extra post this week. Look for one Saturday morning or two Monday morning.

Since I discussed fitness in yesterdays post I will give you an early recipe this week.

I have  a HUGE confession to make here. I have a really serious issue with food. My first issue is; I love food! My second & biggest issue is; when I choose to eat. I sometimes…well most days…don’t eat any food until around 1:00 or 2:00 in the afternoon with the exception of coffee. My third issue is; what I eat. I generally put together a pretty healthy dinner for the family but snacks throughout the day for me and the kids are usually granola bars, cookies, chips (my personal favourite “Hickory Sticks”) or something else from a package. So a mission of mine that will go hand in hand with my mission of fitness, is to prepare these foods from scratch. It’s one thing to be lazy in preparing food for myself day to day but it is my responsibility to prepare good, healthy foods for my children, made with ingredients I know all about. Good and delicious, home cooked, home baked food for the people I love. I’ve given you one of my favourite “go to” pasta dinners and now here’s a dessert.

I baked these cookies at the end of last week and tried them on our constant flow of visitors over the Thanksgiving weekend to hear what people said and I asked for honest feed back for this reason; just because they’re healthy does not mean I’m passing them onto you. I want to give you yummy, healthy recipes not just healthy recipes werd! Every single person loved them and this was before I told them they were healthy so…I’m spreading the word to you now. Remember with baking you have to use specific measurements. It’s not really how I like to roll but it is what it is when it comes to baking.

Cookies for Rookies

  • 1 1/4 Cups Flour (use whole wheat if you want)
  • 1 Cup Quick Cooking Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 tsp each Baking Soda & Salt
  • 3/4 Cup Packed Brown Sugar (I’m curious to try this with agave nectar instead just to see)
  • 1/3 Cup Light Margarine or Butter (I use butter because I don’t ever like to cook or bake with anything fake)
  • 1/3 Cup Real Peanut Butter (No Skippy or Jif go healthy on Peanut Butter always in everything)
  • 1/4 Cup Skim or Whole Milk or Butter Milk (Probably eve Almond Milk would Rock!)
  • 1/3 Chocolate Chips (semi sweet, milk, white, whatev’s even raisins or walnuts)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Parchment paper line or spay your cookie sheet

In a medium bowl combine flour, oats, baking soda & Salt. Put aside.

In a mixer cream butter, brown sugar, peanut butter & milk then add the bowl of dry ingredients. When that’s all mixed through add your chocolate chips…as many or as few as you want.

The dough seems kinda dry and this is okay. Take handfuls and roll out 1.5 inch balls. Place them 2 inches apart on your cookie sheet till it’s full and pop em in the preheated oven.

10 minutes later take them out of the oven and while they’re still very hot take a fork and push an imprint into the top (flatten them with the fork) and remove immediately onto a cooling rack.

Done!

I double the recipe as I have three kids (but even more the cookie hog my husband) so feel free but most of all enjoy.

Here are some deets per cookie:

  • 80 Calories
  • 2.7 Grams of Fat
  • 0.7 Grams Saturated Fat
  • 1.6 Grams of Protein
  • 12 Grams Carbohydrates
Leave a Reply

