No Regrets Dinner

Day 4 went pretty well I have to say. Knox has been sick so it’s been hard to leave his side this week which has made workouts a little challenging but I’ve managed to create some decent sweat with or without the little guy. Today I took him for a huge walk while Cash and Jude rode their bikes ahead of us. This was the perfect warm up for me since my legs were BURNING all day from my Tracey Anderson fest yesterday. When we returned from our walk (which took about 1.5 hours) I hit the stationary bike downstairs. My legs had loosened up so I was able to pick up the pace a bit and have a good sweat. Knox was messing with the Wii (he thought he was dominating the tennis court) and that kept him busy for most of the time but other than that he just puttered around. I think the fact that I was with him downstairs put him at ease to just play on his own…he just wants me near awwwwwe.

Anyways, todays about food. Heres a guilt free dinner I’ve been doing for a few months now (shout out to my sister-in-law Julia for the idea). I make a simple pasta sauce with natural ingredients and pour it over steamed broccoli instead of pasta. I am telling you with 100% honesty, I never need to eat pasta again. I swear (unless it’s stuffed with lobster & cheese). Now, because I need this program to be sustainable for me, I use extra lean ground beef and I have to add my parmesan cheese or it just won’t work. If you can substitute the beef for ground turkey or chicken and leave the parm in the fridge you’ve got yourself a virtually fat free dinner BOO YA!

Here’s what I do (all quantities are up to you):

  1. Saute EVO in a large pot at medium heat with fresh garlic (I like lots…you decide) until garlic has softened…like 2 mins.
  2. Add ground beef (or substitute with leaner meat).
  3. While the meat is still cooking add chopped carrots, celery, mushrooms, zucchini (whatever veg you want). I like to cut my pieces up really quite small so the kids don’t see what’s in it. But I do lots!
  4. When the veggies are cooked most of the way through, take it to a medium/high heat and add some milk (for a relatively large pot do a cup) with a couple of dashes of nutmeg. At a mild boil let the milk evaporate.
  5. Add 2 large cans of whole tomatoes (I think they’re 14oz) and bring it down to a low simmer. Add some sea salt and pepper and let that little honey sit there on the stove for a few hours with the lid off. Now you’re set.
  6. At around dinner time steam some broccoli, grate some cheese and pick a couple of sprigs of basil and BAM you’re done.
  7. I like to do a massive amount of this when I do it so I can freeze 2 meals for us down the road. I make noodles for the kids too since not everyone is as keen on the broccoli as I am (I promise you it kicks ass though).

Here are a couple of pic’s I took on my iPhone so they’re not the best. Keep in mind I only had time to leave this on the stove for about an hour so the tomatoes hadn’t broken down like they would over the course of 4 hours. Please note; you can break them up with a knife or your hands as they’re going in as well. One last thing… I only had pre shredded parm in the house so…unforch no freshly grated. I hope you try but hope you like more!

Leave a Reply

